Gardening

I have had a garden for many years. When I went back to work after having my kids, it was no longer a priority. Last year we didn’t even plant a single thing. This year we are keeping it small. Very small. We planted a few carrots, 3 lettuce plants, some spinach, and we plan to put out 2 pepper plants, 3 tomato, 1 squash and 1 zucchini. We also have 4 rows of corn planned. And a green bean tee-pee, I am really excited to try that out.

We are not yet composting, so we didn’t want to have too many plants. This should be enough to get us through harvest without having to buy any of this at the store. We should also have some to put up for later. I know it’s not much but our goal this year was to get the basics of preservation and not to go too big. One year we had way too much and it just over whelmed me.

So what do you think? What do you all plant in your gardens?

Published by

terrifortner

I am a mom to 5, a wife to 1, and a friend to all. I want to live off the land, and I want to tell you how we did it, so you can do it too!

3 thoughts on “Gardening”

  1. For me it has been what we actually use. I’ve planted almost everything across the years I’ve been doing it, but some goes to waste as the cookers in the house don’t use them. I’ve reduced to lots of lettuce, carrots, tomatoes and fruit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s great you’ve paced yourself so you don’t get overwhelmed at harvest time later. You could try sowing some more seeds later to space out harvests as successional sowing. I remember one year being so overrun with zucchini it ended up spoiling and getting put in the compost heap!

    Great blog can’t wait to see how your bean teepee turns out this season!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

