Taking Stock

Last month I saw this cool idea on making homemade soup stock from leftover scraps of vegetables. This sounded like something I wanted to do. So we saved all the potato peels, and pepper guts, and broccoli stems, and spare carrots, and the last of a bag of celery sticks. It takes us about 2 weeks to get enough to fill a gallon Ziploc bag. I keep it in the freezer until it’s full. All this would have been just tossed in the trash before I started dreaming of our little off grid life. Now I take that stuff that would’ve been trash and turn it into gold simply by adding water. My first batch had quite a few onions in it, so it has loads of onion flavor. This time we did not save any onion scraps.

I like doing this in the slow cooker for a few reasons. The biggest is because I do not have to keep an eye on it because the water will not boil away. You could do this in a pot on the stove, or over an open fire. 

To preserve this I will strain it twice. First through a colander, and then through a mesh strainer. You could also use cheese cloth. Then I will chill it in the fridge over night, or for a day, or until I can get to it. Last it will go into a freezer bag lined loaf pan. I like the loaf pan because it is the perfect size for us, and I can stack the little bricks in my freezer. I hope to start canning this year, but until then my freezer is a terrific tool and I will use all the tools I have available to me. 

So I ask you, what are your tips and tricks for your trash?

Published by

terrifortner

I am a mom to 5, a wife to 1, and a friend to all. I want to live off the land, and I want to tell you how we did it, so you can do it too!

2 thoughts on “Taking Stock”

Leave a Reply

