The road so far…

That title feels a bit too “Supernatural” but it’s a good jumping off point.

When I was kid my teachers stressed the big 6 questions “Who, What, Where, When, Why and How” whenever I was writing anything. So, that’s what I have for you.

Who: My husband, myself, and our 3 children

What: Want to move to a piece of property that we will own.

Where: West Virginia- near a top preforming VA hospital.

When: Sometime in the next 6-8 years

(Here is where it gets complicated)

Why: Because we do not want to work for the rest of our lives. We want more time to enjoy our family. We want to take care of ourselves.

How: Uh… Yes, How? I am still working on this one.

I suppose I started with our finances because of my job I am hyper-focused on money. We have a terrific debt reduction plan. I used the site below to calculate our debts, and how we could pay them down.

https://engage.crown.org/debt-calculator/

Then I went a step further and found ways to cut spending out and find more money each month.

This takes some time, and some research on your debts. I did not follow their suggestion and pay off the balances in the order of lowest balance to highest, because then I am paying more interest. I chose to order it by highest interest rate to lowest interest rate.

We also have a very strict cash budget that I came up with here:

https://planner.crown.org/Default.aspx

Let me note that I have not been paid, or endorsed or otherwise affiliated with Crown Ministries. I just used their website, and I liked it. You can use any one you like, or figure it out on your own. Whatever works. The point was to get out of debt as soon as possible.

Next I had to figure out what we would need to execute this idea. Land, Shelter, Water, Food, Power, Medical (insurance and treatment), Money, Money, and more Money.As I was about to find out going to a self sustained life is expensive!

So there you have it. The big 6.

 

Published by

terrifortner

I am a mom to 5, a wife to 1, and a friend to all. I want to live off the land, and I want to tell you how we did it, so you can do it too!

5 thoughts on “The road so far…”

  1. It’s all in the little things! Learn how to live with less…less toys, less clothing, less stuff. Learn how to cook from scratch, learn how to do the little things like make your own cleaners…all of the little things add up to be a lot. The little changes are typically less stressful to make than say, decluttering, but they are what get you to where you want to go. I’m always seeking out the next “small” change we can make around here to getting us closer to our ultimate goal. Good luck on your journey. I look forward to hearing more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I am fortunate to have married a Chef. So cooking from scratch and butchering meats are easy for him. We have been bulk buying meat for years from US Food’s open to the public Chef Store and he cuts them down to fit our needs. This is something that we plan to continue at least until we branch out to growing our own meat.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s great! That’s probably one of the biggest hurdles most people have to overcome when getting into this lifestyle.

        Like

Leave a Reply

